Fig and Pig Pizza

I would be remiss to continue on much further in this blog without sharing one of my favorite fig-based dishes. I first enjoyed a Fig and Pig Pizza at a wine tasting event at Buena Vista Carneros Winery just a few months after moving to San Francisco. A traditionalist, I hardly ever stray from my favorite, the pepperoni pizza. However, Fig and Pig Pizza is a delicious San Francisco taste adventure that is very simple to make at home. Buon appetito!

Ingredients

Pre-made pizza dough

Provolone and/or Mozzarella and/or Gorgonzola cheese

shreddedProsciutto, cut in bite-size pieces

Fresh figs, sliced

Caramelized onions

Honey, a drizzle

Olive Oil , a drizzle

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Roll out pizza dough onto round pan or pizza stone. Cook dough for about four minutes to create a light crust, then remove from oven. Brush a thin layer of olive oil over crust, then spread desired amount of cheese(s), caramelized onions, figs and prosciutto. Drizzle a light or liberal amount of honey over the entire pizza. Cook pizza for 10-12 minutes longer until cheese is melted and prosciutto is browned. Eat and be one with delicious San Francisco cuisine.

~ by jessicamoriates on November 11, 2010.

One Response to “Fig and Pig Pizza”

  1. This sounds yummy! Feel free to make it for me next time I come to visit! Also, my favorite meal in San Fransisco was the Crab Legs you made for me last time I was there. Miss you lady!

Leave a Reply

 
