Figs on a Plate

Almost a year ago, David Chang of Momofuku fame shocked the (Northern Californian) world by proclaiming, “every restaurant in San Francisco is just serving figs on a plate.” He challenged: “do something with your food.”

At the time he made this judgement, I had been living in San Francisco for just a few months. I was in a new city with a new husband working a new job. The sun didn’t shine through the fog, the light rail train that runs on my street kept me up all hours, and I was constantly lost.

I was overwhelmed.

And then there was breakfast at Tartine, a bakery in the Mission.

Never could I have anticipated that my life would change in one meal. I had ordered a morning bun, which had to have been one of the most incredible pastries I had ever eaten. It was soft, and warm and sticky with sugar. I took a bite and a sweet orangey-goodness interlaced with layers of soft dough melted away all frustration and home-sickness. I felt warm and safe and good as I wiped the layer of sugar from my face. I was home.

Every meal I have had since in this city has reinforced those feelings of contentedness. I have fallen in love with San Francisco through its food. And now I can’t fathom living in any other city as I am convinced I will never eat so well if I leave. So how could David Chang possibly be right? How could he possibly believe that all our food is just uninspired, simple figs on plates?

Through this blog I will share my exploration of San Francisco’s vibrant and ever-changing food culture. I hope to prove that our food is indeed unique, flavorful, and life changing.  By no means do I proclaim myself to be a serious foodie, critic or epicurean. I am simply a wide-eyed girl who feels as if she is tasting food for the very first time. I invite you to join me on my journey.

~ by jessicamoriates on October 19, 2010.

4 Responses to “Figs on a Plate”

  1. I was totally wondering how you picked your title! What a great story!! Can’t wait to read more!

  2. I love tartine. Their bread has been one of my favorite evening meals since moving here.

  3. What a great prompt. Go Jess!

  4. Hey…I like figs!

Leave a Reply

 
